A Female Dr Who? About chuffing time…

For anyone who has been living under a rock: Jodie Whittaker is the next Dr Who. Although many have taken to social media feeds criticising this, many have also praised it- and I am about to join their ranks.

This isn’t going to be a long post, but I just needed to say this: my generation grew up with brilliant female companions (I was a huge Billie Piper fan), but they were never the main focus. I grew up never being able to play the hero if we were playing Dr Who. I could be the bad guy or a companion maybe (the former was more fun), but come on, I wanted to be The Doctor sometimes.

Even though shows like GoT have overtaken Dr Who for my viewing of choice, I still have a soft spot for the show. I remember watching Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant and a bit of Matt Smith, and when Dr Who was one of the highlights of my day. In the past little boys have always played the hero, and the girls the one being saved. I think the fact that we now have Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman, and Whittaker as Doctor Who is revolutionary, and its about time little girls grew up with amazing role models on the screen. The show is about discovery, and so it needs to be continually moving forwards, pushing viewers to discover new things too.

Realistically, media is one of the most accessible outlets for pushing equality. It is here we need to have equality at the forefront. My history classes never focused on the suffragettes, or women who shaped the world. Many of the writers within the British canonical works are not female (my lecturers really encouraged us to challenge this and read the works of female writers on their modules). Little girls never really see what women can do, and what they have done. At least, it isn’t actively shown to them. But you know what children so spend an increasing amount of time doing? Scrolling through social media and watching their favourite shows. Our media outlets need to have an even playing field. I think its time we give the little girls a turn to play at being the hero in playground games, and then retain that belief that they can be the hero right into their adult life.

Leave a Reply

