MissFit’s Protein Powder Review

Okay, it has finally happened. We have a brand producing flavoured NON-WHEY PROTEIN! Until I saw this, I had seen two brands do a flavoured plant-based protein here in the UK. I’m not even sure one was made in the UK, and the other has sadly gone out of business (I bought their powder on offer as a protein shop was shifting old stock). However, we now have a new home-produced protein powder to try.

Overall I was really impressed, been as a flavoured non-dairy powder is hard to come across, and MissFits are definitely opening the door to some more interesting flavours. My only minor niggle is that all of the flavours could use a little less stevia added. I find pea protein sweet anyway, and so didn’t feel like stevia needed to be so close to the top of the ingredients list. However, I did love that they added in green tea extract, B12, digestive enzymes etc. to really help aid the post-workout recovery, energy levels, and boost a vitamin that diets free of animal products can be lacking. Whenever I used the powders in meals they kept me fuller for longer too (a challenge as I’m usually extremely hungry after I workout). I’m hoping MissFit’s release more flavours in the future (salted caramel, gingerbread, peanut butter, cinnamon- hint hint). If you’re going to buy these- or any other powder- I’d say incorporate them into something other than a protein shake, and make sure you aren’t using them to replace real food.

MissFit’s powder comes in four different flavours: Chocolate, Vanilla, Mixed Berry, and Coffee. They’re the best flavoured pea protein products I have managed to find, bearing in mind pea protein has quite a distinct taste. Let’s get down to the review.

Brand Overview:

The sachets are all part of ‘The Multitasker’ range of proteins which are described like this:

‘Gone are the excess calories, sugars and strange chemicals so often found in these kinds of products. Instead you’ll find top quality natural protein and an amazing nutrient blend, with nothing artificial. Simple.’

Sounds great to me so far. You can get all of the flavours in a vegan blend, and you can get the Vanilla and the Chocolate flavour in a whey blend, so there’s so wiggle room if you aren’t a fan of pea protein. The ingredients of each flavour are pretty simple. They seem to all contain the pea protein, a natural flavouring with some stevia, and enzyme blend, vitamin B12 (great if you are vegan), and then the other ingredients vary according to the flavour (e.g. freeze-dried coffee or berries, cacao powder, vanilla…). Each sachet has roughly 70-80kcals in there, maybe 1g of sugar, and around 15g of protein. So far, so good.

Vanilla

I had this sachet just as a shake for a snack, because I felt I did have to try at least one purely as a shake. I was pretty disappointed with it as a shake. Water in protein shakes is plain disgusting, so I used unsweetened almond milk. It was kind of hard to mix with the liquid, and the taste of pea protein does come through quite strongly. However, this is the case with whey protein anyway, and is just a standard protein shake problem. On the upside the vanilla really came through: a little sweet for me, but definite vanilla. My mistake was trying this as a plain shake, and in future I plan of incorporating it into a nice-cream, smoothie, or some pancakes.

Coffee

After the vanilla I was a little sceptical about how much I would like this sachet, but it was great in a smoothie. Again, the pea protein’s natural taste does come through (it has a slightly sweet, nutty flavour), and you definitely need the recommended 300ml of liquid MINIMUM to prevent a powdery texture. But you can taste the coffee too. Subtle, slightly sweet, but it still came through against the banana, maca, almond butter and almond milk I also had in there. Add 1tsp of instant coffee with this for more of a buzz, or more of an intense coffee flavour.

Mixed Berry

Tried this flavour in a different way again: proats. I added the whole sachet to my porridge one morning, and the entire kitchen smelt like super-sweet berries. The smell actually reminded me of strawberry laces. I expected this to be way too sweet for me, and I’m not a berry-flavour fan at the best of times. Adding it into porridge did tone down the sweetness, but I wouldn’t re-purchase this flavour. If you like sweet protein products, and berry flavours, then add this to your shopping list.

Chocolate

I put this powder into another smoothie, and was pretty impressed! I combined it with frozen banana, cinnamon, and PB for a post-workout snack, but I also fancy trying to make a mocha smoothie with it. Out of all of the flavours this was probably the best in my opinion. Still pretty sweet, but definitely chocolate-y. I’d also recommend adding to porridge, or banana nice-cream.

 

There you have it, my review of MissFit’s protein powders. Has anyone else tried these? If you have let me know what you thought down below…

Leave a Reply

