Egg, Asparagus, Broccoli & Pepper Couscous (fast, easy, and healthy!)

IMG_20170516_212211_450The past few weeks have been a bit busy for me, what with my final essays for third year being handed in tomorrow, and completing my poetry portfolio to hand in a couple of weeks ago- something I’ve spent nearly a year working on and had to be pried away from me. I know that this time of year us students tend to just pick up food as we go, and though I am always ready to indulge my love of food, it can become a little bit expensive. It can become a LOT expensive. And since I’ve been spending a lot of time in a local cake shop recently, and I would rather spend my money on cake (its really good cake), this was becoming a bit of a problem. This is the kind of lunch that provides a solution: its fast, its pretty no-brain-power-required, it tastes great, and it will make you feel good. You can also then spend more money on cake.

Swap in whatever veggies you want/have. Here I’ve used broccoli (I always have that in), pepper (I was finishing up a three pack), and asparagus (on offer in the market, and coincidentally one of my favourite vegetables, so I was using up a massive bunch of the stuff). The idea is to keep this cheap, so don’t go buy mega-expensive ingredients. Couscous is something I feel like every student should have in, as are eggs. Both are things you can make multiple meals out of, and so are invaluable.

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs, whisked and placed into a microwavable jug
  • 1 handful asparagus
  • Broccoli, however much you like
  • 1/2 bell pepper
  • Herbs and spice, to taste: turmeric, black pepper, salt, dried mixed Italian herbs, fresh ginger (that last one is optional, but I love it and so put it in anything I can)
  • 50g (dried weight) couscous

 

Method

  • Prepare the couscous by placing into a large bowl, and pouring in about 100-120ml boiling water; let it sit until the water has been absorbed. Along with the water add in the herbs and spices, to your own taste. If you’re adding the ginger, then finely dice it, and add it in now too (alternatively, if you aren’t a fan of fiery tastes, then cook it a bit in a pan, and cook the veggies with it. If you can’t be arsed with the pan, then microwave it on a plate for a few seconds. You have options.)
  • Next: place the eggs, into the jug, and then into the microwave. Cook on full power for 60-90 seconds, until it looks like a very thick omelette. Transfer onto a chopping board, and allow to cool whilst you prepare the veggies.
  • Chop all of your vegetables into chunks. Place the broccoli into a bowl with some water, cover with a plate, and microwave for 1 minute 30 seconds, or until nearly tender. After a minute add in the asparagus, and cook for 30 seconds. Drain the veggies and add into the couscous, along with the pepper (I like to leave this raw for some crunch).
  • Now it has cooled slightly and isn’t so delicate, chop the egg omelette into chunks, and throw into the bowl.
  • Stir everything together. You can either eat straight away, or transfer to a tub and allow to cool before placing into the fridge. Pick it up as you leave the house, and lunch is taken care of…
Leave a Reply

