Lemon & Raspberry Pancakes with Cashew Butter & Yoghurt “Cream”

IMG_20170419_074354_424-2I feel like lemon and raspberry is a classic combination. It’s one of my favourites. So obviously I wanted to showcase this in pancake form- and top it all off with a creamy, sweet, nutty cashew butter and Greek yoghurt cream.

I used coconut flour, as I was given this a while ago, never used it- and it goes out of date later this year. However, feel free to use plain or self raising flour, but you will need to reduce the milk by a couple of tbsp. (as coconut flour is richer in fibre, and so apparently Β requires more liquid to form a batter). If I didn’t have the coconut flour I would be using self-raising flour, as I don’t see the point in going out to buy expensive ingredients that you’re only going to use for one recipe. Don’t feel the need to go out and buy it specifically for this is what I’m saying, though if you feel you’d experiment with it a bit more regularly than I do, then go for it- I hear that it’s great in baking.

Hope you enjoy the recipe!

Ingredients (serves 1)

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour mixed with 1/4 tsp cinnamon andΒ 1/2tsp baking powder
  • 1 large egg
  • 6tbsp almond milk
  • Zest and juiceΒ of 1/4 lemon
  • 1 large handful frozen raspberries
  • 50g Greek yoghurt
  • 1tbsp smooth cashew butter
  • 1.5tsp maple syrup

Method

  • Mix together the coconut flour, cinnamon and baking powder, with the egg, milk, 1/2tsp maple syrup, and lemon zest.
  • Spray a pan with non-stick cooking spray and bring up to a medium heat. Add the batter a little at a time to form pancakes. Onto each pancake crumble some frozen raspberry, then flip and cook the other side.
  • Plate up. Beat together the Greek yoghurt and cashew butter. Top the pancakes with the mixture, some frozen raspberries, and the remaining maple syrup.
5 thoughts on “Lemon & Raspberry Pancakes with Cashew Butter & Yoghurt “Cream”

  1. What a great idea to mix the cashew butter with the greek yogurt! Last week I tried for the first time Skyr, the Icelandic strained yogurt. Ever had it before? I loved it, it’s so thick and creamy, I really recommend it! I love the lemon-raspberry combination too, it’s just so refreshing! Have a great weekend Em! Monica x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Monica! Oooh I’ve not tried Skyr, but I may have to give it a go now- yoghurt needs to be super thick and creamy πŸ™‚ I bet cashew butter would mix into that really well! Hope you have a lovely weekend too, Em x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

