Raspberry-Apple Cashew Butter Pancakes

IMG_20170415_074659_937

Lately I have been fancying pancakes. When I was little we made pancakes pretty much every weekend- Scotch drop scones are actually what we made. My mum was often the one who made them with us, and as that’s the pancake recipe she prefers, my brother and I grew up feeling these were proper pancakes. They’re small, fluffy, and much more “stackable” than crepes. These remind me a lot of those pancake-driven mornings.

This was the first time ever that I’ve ever used the flour in a recipe, and I actually quite like it (I’ve used the Seven Hills one here). There’s a subtle coconut-y taste and texture. Not as fluffy as regular pancakes, but really delicious. If you want mega-fluffy pancakes then I’d say use self-raising flour and omit 2-3tbsp of the milk (coconut flour has a higher fibre content, which mean you need more milk to form a batter).

This is a really satisfying breakfast, and the apple adds the height that guarantees a decent stack. The cashew butter is amazing when it melts into them. My top tip is this: stack them, adding cashew butter, then microwave for up to 1 minute. If you’re anything like me, then you’re quite slow at making pancakes and the first has gone stone-cold by the time the last is ready, so the microwave is your best friend. I also highly recommend adding a dollop of thick Greek yoghurt, or even a scoop of ice-cream if you’re pushing the boat out.

Ingredients (serves 1)

  • 1 medium apple
  • 1 large egg
  • 6tbsp almond milk
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour, 1/2tsp baking powder, 1/2tsp cinnamon- stirred together
  • 1 handful frozen raspberries
  • 1tbsp cashew butter ( I use Meridian)
  • Vanilla extract, to taste (I used a couple of drops)
  • Maple syrup (or any other sweetener), to taste (I added about 1tsp)
  • Greek yoghurt, to serve

 

Method

  • Whisk together the egg, milk, and flour mixture; set to one side.
  • Slice the apple into fairly thick rounds, then remove the core from each round. Microwave these slices for 30 seconds, and pat dry with kitchen roll. This makes sure the apple in the centre of the pancake is tender and delicious…
  • You can either dip the apple into the batter, then transfer to a hot pan- or dollop some batter into the pan, then place the apple ring onto this and add a little more on top (I found the latter method much easier). Cook as you would a normal pancake, flipping when cooked on one side.
  • Plate up your pancakes, layering with cashew butter (see the tip above!). Top with Greek yoghurt and raspberries.
Leave a Reply

