Chilli, Ginger & Prawn Rice

wp-1489160405416.jpg

If you follow me over on IG, then you’ll know the amount of chilli I like to put in my food very nearly gassed my flatmate, who began to have a coughing fit while I cooked this. Needless to say, I put in more than I have specified in the recipe below, because not all of us like spice quite so much. However, if you’re a spice fiend too, then feel free to up the chilli content.

The main star of the dish is the ginger though. I love ginger in stir fries and curries, and thanks to making this I have a whole packet to play around with this week. It’s great for aiding digestion and getting rid of gas (unglamorous, but true), alleviating nausea, un-bunging a blocked nose if you have a cold (the spice will help too), and it just tastes plain amazing.

A few swaps you may want to try with this dish:

  • Try switching the rice for bulgur wheat if you’re in a hurry, and cut 15 minutes off a 30 minute meal
  • If you’re a veggie swap the prawns for Quorn chunks, or even better: put two fried eggs on top instead
  • Use canned fish in place of the prawns to lower the cost (I know prawns are a luxury buy for me anyway): I’d actually opt for canned mussels, or canned mackerel, or even tuna
  • If you’re vegan then some red kidney beans, tempeh, or baked tofu chunks will also be delicious
  • You can actually mix the rice into the meal when cooked, placing everything into the pan, and this is lovely- I didn’t simply because I wanted an aesthetically pleasing photograph.
  • I have mentioned this below, but if you don’t have soy sauce in your cupboard, then try swapping in balsamic vinegar. You’ll lower the salt content, and I actually think I prefer the taste in this meal…

Ingredients

  • 100g cooked prawns
  • 70g brown rice (dried weight)
  • 1 thumb length piece of fresh ginger, coarsely grated
  • 1/2 red chilli, finely sliced
  • 1 large garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 handful closed cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 50g broccoli, cut into small florets
  • 1/2 large bell pepper, chopped into chunks
  • Soy sauce, or balsamic vinegar (trust me on that one), to taste

 

Method

  • Into a small pan place the rice, along with enough water to cover. Bring to the boil, and then simmer on a medium heat for 30 minutes, topping up the water if required.
  • Once there are 10 minutes left on the timer, place the garlic, ginger, and chilli into a frying pan or wok with a little cooking spray, and sauté over a low heat. Once softened add in the broccoli; bring the heat up to medium, and add a splash of water to steam the broccoli.
  • Once the broccoli is nearly cooked to your liking, add in the mushrooms and pepper. Continue to cook until tender.
  • Throw in the prawns, and soy sauce to taste. Heat the prawns through for 1-2 minutes, drain the rice, and then plate up…
2 thoughts on “Chilli, Ginger & Prawn Rice

Leave a Reply

