Giant Beetroot Falafel

wp-1485601518002.jpgIf I had to label a few of my favourite foods, then falafel would definitely be up there near the top. So I knew it couldn’t be long before I made some falafel for this blog. If you follow me on IG then you’ll also know that I’ve been going through a beetroot phase for quite some time now. Here, I’m combining the two.

I made these for my family, and we ate them with salads, rice, and an aubergine and onion stew. However, now I’ve tried them, I know these would be beautiful in a pitta bread or burger bun, with a side of sweet potato wedges. They’re also great the next day, and the flavours are even more intense when they’re cold- perhaps use them to top a refreshing summer salad along with sweet potato, avocado, and a cool yoghurt dressing (when summer actually makes an appearance- we have a while yet). Let me know how you decide to serve them in the comments!

Ingredients

  • 200g cooked beetroot (the kind that comes in a vaccum pack)
  • 300g can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 egg
  • 2tbsp oats
  • 1tsp EACH : cumin, chilli flakes
  • 3/4tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2tsp ras-el-hanout
  • Pinch of each: salt, white pepper, black pepper, mixed spice

 

Method

  • Place ALL of the ingredients into a food processer, and pulse until mainly smooth but with a few chunks.
  • Divide into 6 giant falafel (0r 12 small ones), and then place on a tray, on greaseproof paper. Shove the tray into the fridge for 30 minutes, to allow the falafel to set a bit.
  • Preheat the oven to 200*c, and whack the falafel in there. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until slightly crisp on top. Serve with rice, and some amazing salads or stews- or place into a pitta or burger bun with crisp and crunchy salad and hummus, salsa, or tatziki…
Leave a Reply

