5 More Newcastle Eateries You NEED To Try…

This week it is actually Newcastle Restaurant Week, and so I figured it was the perfect opportunity to celebrate four more brilliant places to eat by the Tyne. You can read some of my other recommendations right here, and if you’re local to Newcastle, then do let me know of anywhere I should be trying in the comments. Next on my bucket list has to be The Butterfly Cabinet, Shijo, and the new Chaophraya in Eldon Square- if you’ve tried these places already then feel free to recommend something I should be trying off of the menu!

Arlo’simg_20160911_181120.jpg

This is a brunch spot you don’t want to miss during a trip to Newcastle. It’s located in West Jesmond, outside of the city centre, but only a 20 minute walk, or a 5 minute metro ride. I haven’t tried the lunch menu here, but I wholeheartedly recommend you get yourself there for brunch- and order the avo and egg on toast with chilli jam, the granary bread with eggs and a side of salmon, or – my personal favourite- the porridge. The porridge is seasonal, and so in summer it had blueberries, honey, and bee pollen on it, and in winter the combination of banana, hazelnuts, honey, and bee pollen. I have a full review of Arlo’s right here.

 

Mantra Thai

This is the best Thai restaurant in Newcastle, but many I’ve spoken to didn’t know it existed because it’s tucked away behind the central station, just five minutes walk towards the quayside. This is my favourite pick of the restaurants in this post. The food is beautiful: lots of fish dishes and veggie dishes (meat lovers, there’s lots for you too), perfect flavour combinations, and friendly staff. They also make lovely cocktails. My recommendations are the steamed seabass fillets (the sauce is amazing), the mixed seafood grill, the jasmine rice, and the coconut crumbed deep fried banana with ice cream for dessert.

 

Violet’s

wp-1484510779700.jpg

This is my most recent discovery. Again, located literally next to the quayside, I was fairly hesitant to share this one as I wanted to keep it to myself! However, I needed to tell you all what a beautiful place it is. More of a girl’s brunch/coffee trip out location, the inside is exactly what the name ‘Violet’s’ brings to mind. Soft and relaxed décor, cakes under glass jars, a little fire in the corner…the staff are excellent, the food service is fast, and they have a great range of teas. I have yet to try the smoked salmon and egg waffle here, but the friend I went with ordered the seasonal fruits waffle with lemon-mascarpone cream, and it came with edible flowers too. Absolutely beautiful, and a lot of care and attention put into the food.

 

Scalini’s

Unfortunately I don’t have a picture for this, but Scalini’s provides great value Italian food. It’s located on Osbourne Road in Jesmond, so it’s a great pick for any students living in the area. Best time to visit is early evening, and I suggest you try the pizzas or pastas- especially the arrabbiata with king prawns. It’s very laid back, and the staff are friendly (I never revisit a place if the staff aren’t friendly, to be honest). Perfect if you’re wanting a chilled evening with great value Italian food. They also serve tapas, although I can’t comment on this as I haven’t tried it – yet.

 

The Herb Garden

One of the best pizza places in Newcastle. You can’t book here, but turn over is pretty fast, so you won’t have to wait long. And don’t stop at just the pizza- the salads are incredible, and they switch them up every now and again to keep things fresh. Wraps are also on the menu, and The Herb Garden does a great trade with officer workers nearby, as these wraps are great “to go” food. The ceiling is hung with hundreds of lights, and herbs literally grown in the walls here, in hydroponic cylinders. Full review right here!

 

There you go, five more places serving up delicious food in the Newcastle area- now you know about them you can get booking your table, and let me know your pick in the comments below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

