Quotespirational Monday 21/11/16- In which we talk getting rid of personal black clouds…

A negative mind will never give you a positive life.

This Saturday just gone I was convinced it was going to be a bad day.

I thought that the uni gym opened at 7am on Saturdays, and so when I woke up at 6:30am fancying a gym trip, got myself ready, and toddled down there, to find it closed and not open until 9am. Let me also add this element in: recently, my skin has been breaking out, and we all know this is something I find hard to deal with. Though I fancied the gym session, I really had to psyche myself up to go. No one would be there at 7:30/8:00am. But by 9am, the dance society all arrive to train. Well, needless to say it put a bit of black cloud over my head. Because I had formed a plan of how my day was going to play out, and this wasn’t it.

So until 9am I headed to the library, where I half-heartedly did work. Sulking because the library café doesn’t open until 11am, and so I couldn’t even grab a cup of tea. Yep, definitely going to be a bad day.

And something I realised was this: the difference between a bad day and a good day was me. Or you, if you’re reading this.

Mind-set changes everything, and mind-set is what decides whether you have a bad day or not.

So, my plans may have changed. The mind-set I adopted was this: yes, they’ve changed. But they could work out better….

  • I headed to the gym for 9am, then instead of showering there headed home. I had a nice hot shower instead of one in the gym, where the temperature is often unpredictable, and where it often smells like a pub alleyway.
  • I had to clean the kitchen this week (we’re meant to take it in turns) and my flatmates aren’t tidiest at times, despite their many wonderful qualities and tolerance of myself. Instead of being annoyed that I was deep cleaning the kitchen, because come my turn it has often been neglected, I realised I spend a lot of time in the kitchen, and this would ultimately make me happy. Same with cleaning my room: yes, I had to clean it- but I could change the bed and have fresh sheets that evening, which I love.
  • Because I went home I got to eat lunch off of a plate instead of out of Tupperware.
  • I then got ready properly because I was going out in the evening, and in-between that time and the present moment I had a lot of work to do in the library. When someone started eating loudly during my time there, it could have been thoroughly annoying, but it made me put headphones in and listen to music. This actually ended up giving me a much more creative writing session for my portfolio.
  • To finish the day, I got to call my mum briefly, and I then spent 5 hours eating and drinking with two people I love. I can’t find any negative way to see that. Yes, I had a very late night- but it was completely worth it.

For most of the above, I could have approached these things so differently. Even the latter one: if I had been in a bad mood all day, I would probably have snapped at my mum, and been sulky during my meal with my friends. In fact, I’d probably have left early to go to bed and get the day over with.

Half way through this year I decide I wanted to try and build a more positive life for myself, and I feel like on Saturday I really put that into practice.

This week, try and slide into that positive mind-set. I’m not saying let things go that need dealing with- don’t avoid a confrontation that needs to be had because “you’re trying to be positive”.  But with a better mind-set, that confrontation will become easier to deal with, and probably go much more smoothly. If you’re having a bad day, appreciate the little things, and understand that when things appear to be going wrong, you might be getting nudged in the right direction.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

