Arlo’s Café & Bistro: Review

wp-1476299752207.jpgWhen my flatmates and I moved into our current home I immediately knew that we may not have chosen the best location. Because we live in very close proximity to a great second hand book shop, a mini-supermarket, a frozen yoghurt shop, sushi place, a Starbucks, cake and tea and coffee shop, Indian street kitchen I have yet to try- and Arlo’s. Ah, Arlo’s. This is where my money is currently going.

Arlo is a café and bistro on Brentwood Avenue, in the West Jesmond area. And it does one of the best brunches in the city. It’s decorated in a quirky-cool alpine fashion, with plenty of fairy lights, and blankets in case you choose to sit outside.

Arlo’s opens fairly early in the morning, which is ideal if you’re an early bird, or if – like me- you are someone who wakes up hungry, and get hangry within half an hour. Luckily, the brunch menu is amazing. Although Arlo open as a bistro in the evening- and serve amazing cakes all day long- I haven’t yet eaten there on an evening. So, this review will be centring around brunch. Although my flatmate, also sucked into the Arlo trap, has been for tea, and said the chicken burger more than lived up to expectations.

My personal recommendations from the brunch menu are: the avocado and egg on toast with chilli jam, the veggie brunch, or the hen’s eggs on toast with smoked salmon added. Because you can’t beat good quality toast with proper butter. If none of these sound appealing, then Arlo also make scones, waffles, teacakes, granola, and sausage stotties. The porridge is also something I can recommend, though it could use more berries.

wp-1476299752225.jpg

Arlo is usually busy on a weekend, but I’ve always been seated fairly quickly, and the staff have never failed to be friendly and attentive (which makes all the difference really). The only issue I’ve ever had when it has been busy is waiting for a takeaway coffee, which did seem to take quite a while- but the staff did give me two mini brownies with it. This is something Arlo does as standard: free mini brownie with any hot drink. And hot drink-wise, they make a great cappuccino. I’ve also been their frequently with a friend who looks at hot chocolate the way I look at peanut butter, and she was a massive fan of what Arlo had to offer. The “huge hot chocolate” comes with added cream and mini marshmallows- in case you’re slightly more high maintenance than we were.

Okay: cake. If you’re trying to cut back on this then don’t look at the cake counter. Their cakes stand nearly as deep as my hand, and they also make rocky road, brownies, cheesecakes…oh, and that’s separate from the desserts on their evening menu. I have my eye on the lemon and cream sponge, or a good old-fashioned brownie.img_20161001_123118.jpg

So, if you’re in the Jesmond area and are looking to secure yourself a good brunch, then I think this eatery might be just up your street. Price-wise , Arlo’s is pretty much standard. It sits (if you’re au-fait with Newcastle food places) slightly more expensive than Scrumpy Willow, but less expensive than Café Royal (both of which are also worth a visit). All in all, it’s great value for money, with delicious food, lovely staff, and the atmosphere is amazing.

Have you been here already? If you have then leave a comment below with your thoughts- and don’t forget to recommend me somewhere new to try as well!

wp-1476299752208.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

