Garnier Micellar Water (for sensitive & combination skin): Review

1475660160411.jpgIt’s not often I review beauty products. To be honest, I know very little about makeup. One of my flatmates this year is a part-time model, and another is a nail varnish addict though, so I have a feeling I may be learning a bit more in the next 12 months.

However, I have spent a number of years trying to get my skincare routine together, so I know how many, many cleansers work with my skin. From pads to waters to toners to scrubs to gel washes- if it’s a high street cleanser, I have probably tried it. About a month ago now, I swapped my Good Things facial cleanser for a Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water- the one for sensitive & combination skin.  I’d heard great things about this online, so figured I had nothing to lose, as my skin seemed to have become bored with my Good Things routine, and was breaking out. Severely.

First things first: I am not about to tell you that this will magically cure all of your skin ailments. I feel as if every cleanser going says it will eradicate spots in a matter of days/ stop them from ever appearing again. NOT SO. Spots come down to numerous factors, and though skin care and diet can help keep your skin looking healthy, your genetics play an even BIGGER part in your skin developing spots. Stress also plays a huge role. I find that when I’m stressed or tired, spots are the first thing that signals to me that I need to chill out a bit. Though they usually have the opposite effect and drive me up the wall, to be honest.

Now, I have combination skin. This cleanser is the one formulated for that kind of skin, but still may not work for you personally. I can recommend it from my own experience as something that may work for combination skin types, and that may be worth your trying- but I can’t promise you that my skin and your skin will take to it in the same way: again, its down to a number of factors.

With all of that said, lets get to why you’re here: my experience with the cleanser thus far.

How the cleanser interacts with my skin:

  1. My skin doesn’t feel overly dry after using it, and it also doesn’t get super-greasy an hour after I’ve used it, a problem I have all too often.
  2. No stinging, which some products do sometimes lead to- as my skin is also fairly sensitive and has been known to react with harsh products.
  3. Overall, my skin feels cleaner, and has done since the first time I used the cleanser.
  4. More even skin tone.
  5. Fewer blackheads.
  6. My skin didn’t erupt after a week of using it, which I always expect with a new product, as it gets to work. This seemed to be working, but also not making anything too dramatic happen all at once.

Next up…

The Formulation & Sciency “How It Works”

First up: formulation. The cleanser has virtually no scent; if anything it smells clean and soothing. The cleanser I was using was super-fruit scented, and  after the odd night of fruity cocktails this was the last thing that was going to entice me to clean my face. On the other hand, this cleanser  tends to feel like a more relaxing step in my getting-ready-for-bed routine.

One niggle: the packaging says that this can remove makeup, cleanse, and purify in 1 step without rinsing. I would not rely on this to remove my makeup and clean my face on its own. I still use makeup removal wipes, splash my face with warm water, and then apply this with a cotton pad. I then moisturise, and apply tea tree to any spots.

This is where my tenuous grasp on the science comes in. If anyone wants to correct me in the comments below go ahead. This is a majorly simplified explanation, because I wasn’t willing to go into hydrophilic/phobic modules, and revisit my A-Level science qualification.

From what I can gather, micellar waters are made up of micelles, microscopic oil modules suspended in water. These attach to dirt, grime, makeup and other gunk in your pores, and for all intents and purposes pull them out of your pores, dissolving them, but leaving natural facial oils intact. Which explains why this product didn’t strip my skin and leave it stinging.

 

Value for money

One bottle holds 400ml, and it usually costs £4.99. To put this into perspective, my last cleanser was 200ml, and also £4.99- and didn’t perform as well, in my opinion. This bottle seems to have been on the go for ages, and I’m only half way through it. I usually use this at least twice a day, and then also after I shower or have been in the gym. So I’m getting a fair bit of bang for my buck.

 

 

There are a lot of micellar waters on the market currently, as they’re having a bit of a moment. So there are plenty for you to choose from depending on your skin type and budget- if Garnier products don’t tend to work for you, then don’t waste your money: see if a brand you know your skin is more comfortable with makes a micellar water, and give that one a try.

 

Leave a Reply

