Sticky Ginger Faux-Cookie Dough…

img_20160930_190029.jpgIt’s October guys, and that means I can now indulge in all things autumn related!

Autumn is my favourite season- the months through September to November make me happier than any other (unless its raining and my face or hair gets wet). And what is one of the first things that comes to mind? Gingerbread (or, in Yorkshire, we have Parkin. This is a moist, dense, and sticky gingerbread). When I was younger my brother and I made gingerbread biscuits with my dad regularly- and most of the dough would go missing before the biscuits went into the oven. And I don’t think it was necessarily me and my brother who were to blame 9 times out of 10.

Following my  Healthy Chocolate-Chip Chickpea Cookie Dough, I suddenly began to wonder if I could feed my gingerbread habit by playing around with this recipe. And yes, yes I could.

This is great spread on rice cakes, or with sliced pear, or just on its own. If you really want to take it up a notch, then throw in some dark chocolate chips. This is probably my favourite way to enjoy the recipe below…

Ingredients

  • 1 can chickpeas, thoroughly drained and rinsed (this is about 280g)
  • 4tsp almond butter (or cashew butter; the only nut butter I wouldn’t recommend for this is PB. I feel that it’s similar to tahini in flavour, and so lends itself to savoury recipes over this sweet one)
  • 2tbsp almond milk, unsweetened
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 scant tbsp maple syrup (or honey)
  • 2tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4tsp mixed spice
  • 1/4tsp salt
  • 4 fresh, pitted medjool dates, torn into pieces, and soaked in water just off of the boil, with a little grating of fresh ginger for 24hours. Store this in the fridge, and allow the dates to infuse with ginger.

 

Method

  • Empty all of the ingredients but the oats into a food processor, and blitz until as smooth as possible (don’t worry: this will take a while, especially if you’re using a knackered blender like mine instead of an actual food processor)
  • Now, add in 1/4 cup of the oats and blitz again. Once incorporated, empty into a bowl, and stir the remaining oats through the mixture.
  • Divide between four ramekins for a healthy snack party, or store it in a tub in the fridge for your own personal healthy snack stocks. It will last about 2-3 days in an airtight container.

 

If you aren’t into chocolate then you can also top this with a couple of extra dates, as seen in the picture. But if you are a chocolate fan…CHOCOLATE CHIP IT!

Leave a Reply

