Zoats & Proats: A How To

img_20160722_092732.jpgI know that they’ve been all over Instagram for quite some time now. I know I’m a little slow on the uptake here, but I have to say: I’m a fan. This summer just gone I finally decided to try both zoats and proats after discovering Tally Rye on YouTube, and though I wouldn’t personally eat proats every day (I don’t feel like getting into the habit of using protein powder when I don’t need to, and so usually only consume protein products on workout days, or when I’ve done other recreational sport- such as rock climbing), I can see zoats making their way into my life when I have the time on a morning.

Both zoats and proats have a thick, almost batter-like texture to them, due to the courgette, which works as it would in a vegetable based cake. I can’t say I like this texture more than my regular porridge (as a die-hard porridge fan), but sometimes it’s nice to switch things up. For more ways to switch up your every day oats, I’ll include some links to other recipes I have at the bottom of this post- including proats without protein powder, just in case you aren’t comfortable using this product.

But today I thought that I would finally let you guys in on how I make zoats and proats- if, like me, you’ve not cottoned on to their popularity before.

Below you’ll see that I’ve used pea protein in my proats, but change this up depending on which protein powder you prefer. These oats (and some smoothies) are some of the only things I have used protein powder in so far, since I got hold of it in a Holland & Barratt’s sale, and whilst I can’t say whether I’ll be forking out for it again yet, it does work really well in proats.

 

But what are proats and zoats?


Proats- Protein oats. So, porridge with protein powder
Zoats- Zucchini oats. Porridge with zucchini. Or, rather, courgette. But “coats” doesn’t have the same ring to it.

 

Proats
Combine 1/2 cup oats with 1 cup boiled water, 1-2tbsp pea protein, and 1/2 finely grated medium courgette in a small non-stick pan. Turn the heat up to medium, and stir to combine. Once the proats begin to bubble turn the heat down low immediately. Stir now and again, until thickened- if you have a sweet tooth then add in 2tsp maple syrup. Spoon into a bowl, top with some fruit, and enjoy…

Zoats
Exactly the same as the above, but omit the pea protein and, if you don’t have a sweet tooth, the maple syrup too.

Both of these takes on traditional porridge take the level of how filling it is up a notch. The courgette adds some more volume to the oats and gets in one of your 5 a day – as pear or apple chunks do in my regular porridge.

 

Show your oats some lurve…

Chocolate & Raspberry Overnight Oats

Banoffee Overnight Oats

Proats without protein powder

Pear & Blueberry Baked Oatmeal

Banana Maple & PB Baked Oatmeal

Search terms to find more of the above:

  • Overnight Oats
  • Porridge
  • Baked Oatmeal

Have fun!

Leave a Reply

