Pumpkin Spice Latte…Smoothie?!

img_20160910_093808.jpgIt’s that time of year. Am I jumping the gun a bit? If I am, I blame my Starbucks app, which conveniently notified me that the pumpkin spice latte was back. Damn you starbucks.

I have a confession to make before we go any further: I’ve never actually had a pumpkin spice latte. I know what they smell like, I know what they look like- but I haven’t been able to talk myself into trying one. I hate sweeteners in my coffee, I’m a cappuccino/Americano kinda girl, not a latte drinker, I hate whipped cream on coffee- and so the idea of pumpkin flavoured syrup, stirred into a latte, and topped with cream, doesn’t appeal to me. Perhaps this year I’ll finally bite the bullet and try one though- possibly wasting my precious coffee fund in the process. But hey, life is all about risks.

What I do know is that this Pumpkin Spice Latte Smoothie is amazing. It’s got actually pumpkin in it for starters. It has a subtle coffee taste, some spices,  little bit of natural sweetness, and provides two of your 5 a day. Think of it as the healthier, more pumpkin rich, version of the pumpkin spice Frappuccino. That you can legitimately have for breakfast.

So, if you are a pumpkin spice fan, give this alternative a go and let me know what you think. And while we’re on it: should I finally try the pumpkin spice latte? Comment below if you have tried it (I get the feeling I’ll be in the minority here).

Ingredients

  • 1/2 strong filter coffee, chilled
  • 2/3 cup pumpkin puree (NOT the sweetened stuff, the 100% pumpkin stuff. I bought Libby’s 100% Pumpkin from Tesco)
  • 200ml unsweetened almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1 banana, sliced and frozen
  • 1tsp maple syrup
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 1tsp ginger
  • 1 good pinch nutmeg
  • 1 small pinch of mixed spice

 

 

Method

  • Throw everything into the blender, liquids first to lubricate the blades, and blend until smooth.
  • Pour into a glass, add a straw, and enjoy…
2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Latte…Smoothie?!

    1. Same here! Autumn is the best…and I have another couple of pumpkin recipes up my sleeve for it 🙂 Ooh, and some gingerbread themed recipes, because that’s something I love this time of year as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

