August 2016 Monthly Favourites

Food

Chocolate-Chip Chickpea Cookie Dough– this is a brand new recipe on the blog, and I could quite easily become addicted to this (recipe right here:https://ecstaticallyem.wordpress.com/2016/08/31/healthy-chocolate-chip-chickpea-cookie-dough/ ). Good thing it’s relatively healthy…

French Toast- I’ve made a couple of French toasts this month, and it could be a phase, but I think I’m a little bit in love. Simply type “French Toast” into the side bar, and enjoy some of the recipes on offer here.

‘Pot Kettle Black’ Asian Style Scrambled Tofu on Sourdough– I have eaten a lot of scrambled tofu in my time, but for some reason I’ve never thought to make a scramble with Asian inspired ingredients. ThisΒ contained mushrooms, spring onions, chilli, ginger, coriander…and I just couldn’t fault it. Pot Kettle Black CafΓ© in Manchester also make incredible coffee and energy balls, and their staff are super-friendly and charming. Check it out if you get a chance.

Drink

Ugot Chocolate – Mint Smoothie– I will definitely be recreating this at home. It combined cacao, mint, almond milk, and banana into a cup of creamy, chocolatey, minty goodness.

Random

The Great British Bake Off– I don’t need to explain myself any further.

The Simpsons- I used to watch this show every night when I was younger, and recently its found its way back into my life, because I like a good laugh at the end of the day

David Guetta’s ‘Titanium’– I have no idea why I love this song so much, but I do. Any time I’m sat in the car, this song is on. It’s also a great pre-gym/in the gym track

Black Swan– I remember saying I would watch this film when it first came out, and as I’m not usually one for sitting still long enough to watch a film, surprise surprise: I didn’t. But when I finally sat down to watch this, I really enjoyed it. Its creepy, and thrilling and beautiful. Really recommend it.

Manchester Art Gallery– I visited Manchester part way through the month, and this was the first place I wanted to go. At the moment they have a “Vogue through the ages” exhibition on, but their collections are well worth going to see even without this added bonus.

Bleak House, by Charles Dickens– This is a uni read for third year, and although its a little hard to get into at first, and difficult to keep track of who every one is, it has aΒ very intricate plot, humour, and although I have to read it in small bursts (its very dense), I can’t put it down.

Health & Beauty

Earth kiss facepacks– Face packs are a bit hit and miss with me: I hate the ones that leave colour residue on my face, which I always notice when I cleanse afterwards. These masks don’t do that, and they leave my skin feeling amazing. I highly recommend the exfoliating one, as its super gentle but gets the job done.

Garnier Moisture Bomb Tissue masks– another face pack. This one is more moisturising than the above, as it leaves a serum on your face. If I’m looking to brighten my skin, rather than deep clean it, I’d go for this.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water– I recently switched up my facial cleanser and this was on offer in SuperDrug. I have a full review coming soon, so don’t want to say too much, but it is fantastic. It cleans my skin really well, and I can honestly say my skin hasn’t looked this good in a long while.

Online & Technology

Tally Rye, IG & YouTube– I adore Tally’s down to earth attitude, and though I know you shouldn’t compare, I feel that she’s a realistic inspiration for myself when it comes to getting stronger and working out- more so than other YouTubers. She’s upbeat and makes informative health and fitness related videos- plus, check out her vlogs, you wont regret it!

Leave a Reply

