Quotespirational Monday 22/08/16- In which we talk life after A-Levels…

‘The lamps are different, but the light is the same’

-Rumi

Today we are talking differences. And how, actually, differences aren’t bad things. What I really want to talk about is different choices and paths we all take. I sat and power- searched Pinterest for a good 10 minutes, looking for an appropriate quote. And then came across this beauty. It’s a little more obscure than the quotes I usually choose, as it isn’t as direct- but it is perfect, trust me.

This is probably a very appropriate time to be talking about pathways, last week having been A-Level results week. Though nearly three years ago now, I knew I wanted to go to university, and was thrilled when I got into Newcastle- I also knew people who didn’t want to go to university at all. And my school didn’t seem happy with this. Most of us were more than encouraged to go to university, and those that didn’t received less help in choosing their future pathway. Of course, there were a couple of exceptions to this: my form tutor spoke to those in our form about their options, found them links and resources to try and decide on a pathway that was right for them. But the overwhelming feeling was of the above. 

Move on three years, and I am more than happy at university, but my friend Ellie is equally happy working in Thailand on an elephant sanctuary- which she worked two jobs for two years to pay for. Another high school friend works/ has worked (I think) on Formula 1 race tracks. Another friend travelled to Australia for 6 months to work on a ranch and explore- and then ended up staying out there for much, much longer.

My point (stolen from Rumi) is this: each and every one of us is like a lamp. It doesn’t matter what shape, colour, size etc.- once that lamp is lit, it gives off light. Whatever it is that lights that fire in you, it will give off light, and in the end that is the only thing that matters.

Leave a Reply

