Quotespirational Monday 08/08/16- Some people don’t like me, and I’m more than okay with that…

‘You can be the ripest, juiciest peach in the world – and there’s still going to be somebody who hates peaches’
– Deeta Von Teese
Let me tell you something: I have met people who don’t like me. So far in my life, no one has directly told me this to my face (I’m sure at some point some brave person will). But sometimes…you can just tell. This is something you often come across in high school to begin with. Because small children have virtually no filter, whereas teenage girls and guys are more insidious.
In high school I had some great friends- and then I had some not so great ones. People where I had no idea why they were actually friends with me, since we rarely bothered with each other, and it was fairly clear that we didn’t really like each other. And for years I believed that there was something wrong with me: every year before I headed back to high school I would try to “reinvent myself”. As in several high school themed movies and books. Needless to say, it was never successful. No matter how I changed my hair, did my makeup, or whichever new bag I bought, it never worked. Eventually, I gave up on that.
Once I stopped being so concerned with being liked by everyone around me, I actually ended up being a lot happier. And by the time I got to uni, I didn’t really give a damn who liked me or not- and there I have made some of the best friends I have ever had.

The truth is, as the above quote says, you can be the best version of you that you can be- and someone still won’t like you. Who knows why. Who cares why? As long as you are a lovely person, and respectful of the fact that everyone is a different- equally juicy- piece of fruit, then it doesn’t matter that you have the good opinion of everybody. Some people don’t like pears, I love pears. Some people love kiwis, but I can take them or leave them. Some miserable buggers don’t like any kind of fruit. However, a pear cannot become a kiwi, and a kiwi cannot be a pear- and they probably wouldn’t do so just to please you.

Leave a Reply

