My Summer Reading List…

    For me summer is a time to a) lament my lack of money, b) try to get a job, and c) read. Read lots and lots and lots. In truth, as I am an English Literature & Creative Writing student, I cannot read enough. And I thought I would bring you all along with me. Some of the following books are from my third year reading lists, some of them are re-reads, and some of them are just there because I really wanted to get around to them this summer. If you have any recommendations leave them in the comments below, or if you’ve read any of these then let me know what you thought!  
    Some of these I have already finished, as my summer began back at the beginning of June; these are marked by having a black line through them. Books that will be re-reads will be marked in blue…
    1. 1984, George Orwell
    2. A Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin
    3. A Clash of Kings, George R.R. Martin
    4. A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow (Book 3, Part 1), George R.R. Martin
    5. This Book Will Save Your Life, A.M. Holmes
    6. Brave New World, Aldous Huxley
    7. Alone in Berlin, Hans Fallada
    8. Bleak House, Charles Dickens
    9. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, Agatha Christie
    10. The Hound of the Baskervilles, Arthur Conan Doyle
    11. The Moonstone, Wilke Collins
    12. Sense & Sensibility, Jane Austen
    13. Cat’s Cradle, Kurt Vonnegut
    14. Alice in Wonderland, C.S.Lewis
    15. Dracula, Bram Stoker
    16. Trent’s Last Case, E.C. Bently
    17. The 39 Steps, John Buchan
    18. Whose Body?, Dorothy Sayers
    19. The Time Machine, H.G. Wells
    20. Herland, Charlotte Perkins Gilman
    21. Tender is the Night, Scott Fitzgerald
    22. The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck
    23. The Beautiful and the Damned, Scott Fitzgerald
    24. Agatha Christie: Her Life and Crimes, Charles Osbourne
    25. Vanity Fair, William Thackeray
    26. The Danish Girl, David Erbershoff
    27. We, Yevgeny Zamyatin
    28. Beg, Borrow, Steal: A Writer’s Life , Michael Greenberg
    Leave a Reply

    