Maple, Pecan Butter & Banana Blender Muffins

I used to bake a lot. I don’t think a week went by when I was in high school, when I wasn’t baking something. Then uni hit, and you don’t really have much time to bake. I did manage a few banana breads, because they’re incredibly easy, but anything else just wasn’t going to happen. It didn’t help that our oven in second year was slightly temperamental- I called it a pile of crap one evening, and the next day it burnt the sole batch of muffins I had attempted to make in the year I had been there.

But, I am now home and so some baking can commence. But it still has to be quick: I have an estimated 30 or so books to read, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a job in August, and I have work experience at the end of this month.

So: blender muffins. I found the recipe I adapted over on Pinterest, and I shall link this fabulous blog right here: http://www.wellplated.com/banana-oatmeal-muffins/ . I fell in love with this blog, and so I really recommend you check it out. Anywho, these muffins are healthy, tasty, and create minimal mess- ideal for desserts, snacks, or breakfasts. The pecan butter made them incredibly soft, and the house smelt of maple syrup for a couple of days- these muffins also disappeared in record time. I only made half a batch, and my family had eaten them in about 3 hours. I hope that you enjoy them- and experiment with this recipe. Add in some chocolate chips, switch up the syrup, or play around with different nut butters…


Ingredients (makes 10-12)
this recipe also halves well to make a smaller batch

  • 2tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup pecan butter (I used Meridian; it’s the only brand I know of that makes pecan butter so far)
  • 2 & 1/3 cups  oats
  • 2 bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup yoghurt
  • 1.5tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2tsp vanilla essence

Method
  • Pre-heat the oven to 200*c, or if you’re using a fan oven 190*c. Line a tray with muffin cases, or silicone muffin cases (I just bought some for £2, and it was one of the best investments I ever made)
  • Throw all of your ingredients into the blender, yes all of them. Blend until a smooth batter forms.
  • Pour into muffin cases, and place into your preheated oven for 15 minutes, until risen and golden. If the muffins are done, they should spring back when you press down on them lightly.
You can let these cool before you dig in, but they are amazing warm with a layer of pecan butter spread on top…

Leave a Reply

