May Favourites 2016

Random

Game of Throne Bobble Heads- My brother bought me the Brienne of Tarth bobble head, and then I bought the Margery Tyrell one, and they both now proudly stand on my window sill/book shelf

Squoval Bowl, M&S- If you follow me on IG, then you will have seen this dish. It has been holding everything from stew to salad to pancakes.
Milk foamer & steamer- Another birthday present, and I can see me getting a lot of use out of this. I’m currently testing out different milks to get the best foam on my cappuccino. Definitely a great investment buy.
Spiralizer- I found this on offer in Lakeland, and despite having accidently spiralized part of my finger, it still remains a favourite. Mostly due to the novelty factor.
 
Books
The Courtesan, Alexandra Curry- I have a review on this coming later in the week, and so won’t say too much now. I couldn’t decide if I liked this or not at first, but once I got into it I was up late every night reading.
Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises, Ernest Hemmingway- Another book I wasn’t sure on at first, but came to enjoy in a really weird way. I have a mini-review of this already up, right here: http://ecstaticallyem.blogspot.co.uk/2016/05/three-mini-book-reviews.html
1984, George Orwell- So this is a bit of a classic, which I have just begun reading, and absolutely love. It’s dystopian fiction as it is meant to be done.
Drink
Iced coffee, homemade- My flatmate has a thing for fresh coffee, and has been giving me the leftovers when she makes a pot. Which has been fuelling my iced coffee habit.
Online
BookTube- I never knew that this existed until about two weeks ago, and since then I have been watching book hauls and reviews and book tags like nobody’s business.
Food
The Herb Garden- This is where I headed for my birthday meal, and its a “pizza bar”, but also sells amazing salads, wraps, and specials- plus desserts.  Again, I have a review coming, but if you live in Newcastle, then get yourself down here pronto. The décor is one of the highlights (see the lanterns hanging from the roof to the left).
Pecan Butter- Meridian kindly sent me their three new speciality butters, and so far this is my favourite. If tastes almost like toffee. And yes, I am working on a healthier pecan pie for autumn.
Beetroot- Random, but has to be on here because I’ve been eating so bloody much of it.
Great Food pumpkin and chilli burgers- I have only been able to find these at Morrisons, but they are more than enough of a reason to go back again and again. The single best veggie burgers (and they also make amazing falafels) that I have ever found. Packed with flavour, no nasty ingredients, and easy to whack in the oven, under a grill, or into the microwave (if I’m feeling really lazy). Makes me sad that my nearest Morrisons is four metro stops away.
 
Beauty & Health
Jo Malone Nashi Blossom Cologne- This is limited edition, and mixes really well with my other favourite, Wood Sage & Sea Salt
Manuka Honey- I could put this into food as well, but I have primarily been using this as a face-pack when my skin really needs rescuing. I use it sparingly as it is expensive, but it has healing and antibacterial properties, which help to heal acne a lot faster. It also softens my skin and smells amazing.
Grounded Coffee Scrub, Chocolate Orange- Another expensive beauty product courtesy of my birthday. This smells and feels amazing, but it does make a massive mess so use it in the shower. The orange is bitter-sweet, and the cocoa subtle. However, I’m enjoying it while I can because I can’t see me being able to repurchase it any time soon. Hopefully this packet will last until Christmas.
John Frieda Frizz Ease Dream Curls- My hair was in need of some TLC, and apparently I have been using the wrong shampoo and conditioner for years. Hence my curly hair had become more like straw. The jury is still out on this one, but it smells great, makes my hair feel soft, and my curls are a bit more defined.
Aveeno Hand Cream- A good friend of mine bought me this as my hands are always cracked and dry and red, and so far I am getting along splendidly with this hand-cream- which is more of a rarity than I can put into words. Thumbs up for Aveeno!
Leave a Reply

