Quotespirational Monday 29/05/16- Looking to my Twenties…

Throw glitter in today’s face.

I played around a lot finding a quote for today, before eventually settling on this one ten minutes ago. Why so difficult to decide? Well, I wanted a quote that encapsulated neatly how I want my twenties to go. For anyone who doesn’t follow me on Instagram, I turned twenty on Saturday, and have been giving some thought to the next decade of my life.
And I have no plan.
How does it feel to read that? Shocking? Comforting? Surprising, if you know me personally, I’ll bet. But the truth is, I spent a lot of my teens attempting to pull together a plan. To have a five year goal, a ten year goal…and eventually I ended up having a monthly goal. A yearly goal, maybe.
I do have a little list of things I want to do now that I’m twenty. But something I began to learn in my teens, and want to re-iterate now, is this: focus on one day at a time. I am most productive when I’m not looking too far forward. When I focus on giving the day I’m in all I have. And I enjoy life more that way.
Of course, I do forward plan- I keep To Do Lists, I have an agenda (a very nice one from Paperchase), I have a revision timetable- but all of them are focused on achieving goals that are close by. Even when making seriously future orientated plans, I then break my massive future goal down into yearly, monthly, weekly, and daily tasks. But what I want my twenties to be about, more than anything, is this:
enthusiasm
I want to give every day a bit of glitter. I want to enjoy it. I know that some days are going to be crap, but that doesn’t stop me from trying to make them better. It doesn’t stop me from being enthusiastic about at least one thing that day – even if it’s just a coffee, or seeing a friend.
You can’t give today all that you have if you’re worried about tomorrow. You can barely grunt ‘good morning’ to today, let alone throw glitter in its face. So, if you take away something from this:
Plan, because that willΒ make your future dreams into a reality. But once you have a plan, don’t lose today in looking too far forward. Just embrace this day, and throw some sparkles in its face.
Leave a Reply

