April Favourites 2016

Random
I Am Malala
 An absolutely fascinating read, which I recommend to you all. I don’t want to say too much, as a review will be on the blog in the next few days, but know that it is an April favourite.
Howl’s Moving Castle
 I began reading this yesterday, as I found it second hand, and have watched the Studio Ghibli film more times than I care to remember.
Bullet Journaling
 My new obsession. In this I can combine my love of organisation and doodles. It also means I now no longer have a tonne of different notebooks, just this and my diary. I’ve even made a Pinterest board.
Stitch Tzum Tzum
I finally managed to get hold of a massive Stitch tzum tzum, which has been a life goal for a little while now.
Food
The Nut Roaster Almond Butter, and Proper Nutty Smunchy Peanut Butter
 These brands are right up there with Meridian. That’s right; another brand is level with Meridian. I love the “smunchy” texture of the Proper Nutty brand (which is also made in Yorkshire, and so I had to love it), and that with The Nut Roaster I have actually met the guy a few times at the market in Tynemouth, and seen the butter being made.
Meridian Squeezy Date Syrup
I was very kindly sent three samples of the new syrups Meridian have released, and this one is my absolute favourite. It works best in Banoffee Overnight Oats (for which the recipe will be arriving on the blog soon)
Pret Spelt & Oat Cookie
Cookies. At Pret. Need I say more?
Naked Deli, Heaton
My first trip to to actual Naked Deli! And it didn’t disappoint…try the green feta patties with poached eggs. Its also one of the only two places I know that can make a good almond milk cappuccino.
Wagamamas
 This month I tried my first Wagamamas. I went for the ramen containing egg and silken tofu, and they shall definitely be seeing me again
Avocado on Toast
Simple, quick, and good for you. I don’t need to tell you that it’s delicious too. Top with salt, pepper, lemon juice, and then any of: tomato, mushrooms, balsamic vinegar, or roasted veggies…
Americano and essay material isn’t all that bad
Drink
Wagamama’s Super Green Juice

 Zingy and fresh, as a green juice should be

Americanos (with milk)
 Yep, as exam season rolls around and my dealines loom, I need stronger coffee.
Beauty
Manuka Honey 
 I um-ed and ah-ed for ages over buying this, but it has proven to be a brilliant investment. I can put it in my porridge, oats, use it as a glaze for fish…and also as a facepack! In fact, I think it works best as a facepack out of all of the above.
LUSH Porridge Soap
 Exfoliating and moisturising, my only gripe is that I have to clean the oats out of the bath after using it
Online
YouTube- Lavendaire
 This channel is probably up there with Melanie Murphy. Lavendaire’s channel is dedicated to becoming an “artist of life”. Which basically means self improvement. But! What’s significant about this channel is that “self improvement” doesn’t mean bodily- it means mentally, incorporating learning and opening your eyes up to the wider world and its possibilities.
Leave a Reply

