Making Porridge My Way…

img_20160820_074742.jpg
One of my most asked questions on IG is How do you make your porridge? My porridge bowls are a point of pride. And every time one of you guys complements those bowls, you make my day. Sad, but true.

I’ve decided to let you all in on my porridge-making secrets. This post tells you how to make every day porridge, and will give you some topping ideas. In the next few weeks though I’ll be writing some specific porridge recipes for you all, pairing up some of the optional ingredients below.

I understand that many of my friends and family point blank cannot stand porridge. But I’m convinced they aren’t making it right. Porridge is simple and (as we’re using water that is already boiling) quick to make, nutritious if you make it well, satisfying, and can look amazing if you know what you’re doing. Who knows, perhaps one day I’ll open a porridge street food truck, or maybe even a porridge café.

With all that said enjoy this basic step by step recipe below, and remember to tag me in any IG pictures of gorgeous porridge bowls…



Ingredients

Basic:

  • 1/2 cup porridge oats
  • 1/2 cup freshly boiled water
  • 1/4 cup milk of choice (I usually opt for a plant based milk, my favourite being almond milk, or coconut-rice milk)
  • Cinnamon, to taste

Every day essentials:

  • Fruit of choice: I usually go for a pear, and then berries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1tbsp nut butter of choice

Make it fancy:

  • OPTIONALS: pinch of ground ginger, 1 egg white (for added protein; recipe here), mint sprigs, cacao (1tbsp), chia seeds (1tsp), vanilla (1tsp), chopped nuts, maple syrup, honey, agave, homemade apple sauce…


Method

 

  • Halve your pear (we’ll work with this as its my go-to) and remove the core. Chop one half and add it to the pan.
  • Place the pan over a low heat, adding in the milk, water, cinnamon, and oats. Allow to simmer until nearly thickened to your liking (I like mine pretty thick)…
  • This is the point where you can throw in optional extras like cacao and chia seeds. Ginger is also great if you need to settle your stomach. Play around with different combinations and find some you love!
  • Stir the porridge with a wooden spoon continuously, until the mixture is completely thickened and the oats have absorbed all of the liquid. As you get better at making porridge on the hob you’ll come to understand how long you need to leave it in order to achieve the texture you like.
  • Remove from the heat once the porridge is of your desired consistency, and pile into a bowl. Top with the remaining half of the pear, and any other fruit/ nut butter/ maple syrup you like…

img_20160924_085250.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “Making Porridge My Way…

  1. Hey! Thank you so much for your comment; I personally try not to count kcal, but I know it's useful if that's what works for you. Having done some maths the calories are roughly as follows:

    Porridge recipe using just the basic ingredients (oats, coconut-rice milk, water, cinnamon): 180kcal
    Basic recipe with pear and berries: 280kcal (depending on the size of the pear)
    Basic porridge with pear, berries, and 1tbsp almond butter: 376kcal

    I think a big breakfast is always a good shout, and so usually go for the last option. Hope that helps!

    Like

Leave a Reply

