Peanut Butter Rice Crispie Bars

First up: I cannot take full credit for these bars. The recipe I used as a base (swapping brown rice syrup for honey, and chucking in vanilla and cinnamon) can be found right here: http://thebigmansworld.com/2015/09/23/healthy-3-ingredient-rice-crispy-treats/ . This blog is AMAZING for recipe inspiration, and I encourage you all to head over and have a good rummage around. Other ways I thought I could change up these bars is by adding some dried raspberries, blueberries, dates, or cranberries- or dipping them in dark chocolate. Keep your eyes peeled for that.

Fun fact: someone commented on the instagram picture said that in New Zealand they call these bubble cakes instead of rice crispie buns (when in bun form). I had my family try these bars, and though my brother was at first disgusted that I had added peanut butter to a “classic”, it didn’t stop him eating one or two. We used to make these bars in bun form with my dad, this being the only “baking” he could actually handle. And pans with burnt marshmallow and golden syrup welded onto them say that even this “baking” was a bit of a stretch. If you want, pile this mixture into bun cases instead of making bars, to really get that childhood treat back. I have to admit, I do want to see these encased in brightly coloured bun cases some time soon.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups rice crispies (I used the Kallo wholegrain puffed rice cereal)
  • 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup runny honey
  • 1tsp vanilla
  • OPTIONAL: 1/2tsp cinnamon

Method

  • In a large bowl combine the rice crispies with the honey, vanilla, and cinnamon (if using).
  • Place the peanut butter into a microwavable bowl, and melt slightly in the microwave; add this to the crispies too.
  • Stir until well combined, and then press into a lined baking tray, before chilling for at least 1 hour. These keep well in the fridge, and are good to go for around 3-4 days.
Leave a Reply

