Better -Than- Bounty Balls

I was speaking to a good friend (we’re actually living together for our second year of uni) recently, and she told me that at Christmas Bounty bars are always the sweets left in the Celebrations tin. I could not believe it. Point blank, could not believe it. Because I always used to snaffle the bounty bars before anything else once that tin was open. Mum took the Maltesers, dad the Galaxy, and Matthew is basically a human trash can. I really loved the dark chocolate Bounty bars you could sometimes get as well. But what happens when you want something perhaps slightly healthier than your traditional Bounty? You come here, that’s what…

 
 
 
 

Right now I’m keeping my eye out for added sugar in my food, and it’s surprising what it can be added to. Obviously, chocolate bars contain sugar. I wanted these balls to contain no added sugar, and instead some healthy fats, and protein- which Meridian’s beautiful cashew butter provides. Obviously coconut is still high fat, and I wouldn’t eat the whole batch of these in one go (I have to exercise some self control sometimes), but each is only 106kcal and 9.3g fat per ball, without the chocolate on top. All of these calories and fats are from good, wholesome ingredients, making these the perfect healthier treat, or pre/post workout energy boost. Cocoa powder lightens up the balls, in place of the thick layer of milk chocolate- although these do taste great with a dollop of bittersweet chocolate on top. And that dark chocolate is rich in antioxidants too. I used agave to sweeten the balls, and also act was a bit of a binding agent; feel free to use honey, I just opted for agave as it doesn’t have that distinctive honey taste, and also means that these balls are great for vegans to chew on too. Because I wanted you all to be able to enjoy eating my balls. 
 
 
Ingredients
  • 1cup + 1/4 cup desiccated coconut
  • 3tbsp cashew butter (I used Meridian)
  • 2tbsp Alpro coconut milk
  • 1tbsp agave
  • 2tsp cocoa powder
  • OPTIONAL: 2-3 small squares dark chocolate (I used my 90% bar); 1tsp desiccated coconut
 
 
Method
  • Into a large bowl empty the coconut, agave, and milk. Soften the cashew nutter ever so slightly in the microwave (literally 10 seconds maximum), and add to the bowl as well.
  • Mix together thoroughly, until completely combined.
  • Use your hands to squidge 2tsp measurements of the mixture into balls, rolling them between your fingertips. Each ball will weigh 15g, if you want to be super precise.
  • Chill the balls for half an hour, before rolling them in a dusting of cocoa, and returning to the fridge until required…
  • If you wish, remove the balls from the fridge 30 minutes before needed and top each with a little melted chocolate, plus a sprinkle of coconut. They can stay in the fridge for up to 4 days.
 
 
 

2 thoughts on “Better -Than- Bounty Balls

  1. These look sooo yum!! I must try to make them.
    By the way I went to Potli for dinner this week and I absolutely loved it!! It definitely made it into my favourite 5 indian restaurants!! Thank you for the tip 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you! My family demolished them in the space of about two days- you'll have to let me know what you think of them if you try the recipe! 🙂 I'm so glad you went to Potli! What did you end up ordering? I would go back to London purely for their food…

    Like

Leave a Reply

