Quotespirational Monday 29/06/15

EVERY DAY’S LIKE AN OPEN DOOR.
Hairspray

If you haven’t seen the film Hairspray, then you should try and get hold of it as soon as possible. If you have Netflix (I know that you’re addicted to that), investigate whether it’s on there. Take a break from Orange is the New Black (should I be watching that?). Anyway, this line comes from the opening song “Good Morning Baltimore”, and if you’ve seen the film then you’ll have a pretty good idea what I’m on about when I say that I had a “Good Morning Baltimore moment” today.

This morning I’ll be heading down to Immediate Media Co. to begin my work experience at BBC Good Food Magazine, and as I write this I’m pretty nervous, but also excited to just get out there. This morning I woke up at 5am. I didn’t plan to (why on earth would I?) but it meant that I was able to see the sun rise over Hammersmith, and feel the morning air coming through the (slightly) open window (our room is way too stuffy, why Premier Inn don’t have air-con is beyond me, but they have given us two fans).  I got to peer out over London’s business district’s landscape and watch the little fruit and veg shop opposite us open, and a few cars meander down the road, and see the sun climb up into the sky before I did a quick yoga session. But in that first moment I looked out of the window this morning, inside I was singing the opening song to Hairspray, and loving every minute.

There’s so much to do in London that I doubt I’ll get it all done, but I can try. This morning I’m going to grab coffee from the little coffee shop opposite the hotel, I’m going to spend the day working at BBC Good Food Magazine, and then explore the underground lines and the areas I end up in. There are so many opportunities coming my way that it’s slightly overwhelming. But what I want you take away from this is that every single day is an open door, and every single day is what you make it. I’m not saying I’m going to skip down London’s streets singing “Good Morning Baltimore”, but a girl might just hum it.

Leave a Reply

