Honey, Soy & Spice Crispy Baked Tofu

My meals have recently been very meat free. I’m not sure why, I’m not sure how it happened, but it is happening. I’m not a vegetarian, or a vegan, because I still occasionally crave some salmon, or mackerel, or seafood in general. But chicken and beef (pork has never really appealed to me) haven’t made many appearances in my dishes over the past few weeks. Who knows how long this may last- but I’ve opted for the vegetarian meal at my English Summer Ball next week. The other option was chicken, with pork sausage, and pork and sage stuffing. A bit too meaty for me at this present moment. Tofu though, and beans, have been in, in a huge way.

The first time I ever cooked tofu it came out a soggy mess. I didn’t crack cooking tofu until a couple of weeks ago, when I seasoned it and baked it. Since tofu may be hanging around in my life for a little while it looked like I should try some different flavours and marinades. Enter my super simple Honey, Soy & Spice take on a vegan staple…

Ingredients

  • 1tbsp soy sauce
  • 1tsp runny honey
  • 1/2tsp hot chilli powder
  • 1tsp Chinese 5 spice
  • 100g tofu (I used Cauldron Original Tofu, and having drained it just pressed as much liquid as possible out using my hands. I’m too lazy to press it overnight, and simply didn’t have the time or patience to faff about)

Method

  • 24 hours before you need the tofu it will need to marinate. So, mix your spices in to the soy sauce, and place your tofu into a tub. Pour the soy sauce and spice mix, followed by the honey, over the top. Turn the tofu in the mixture a few times until evenly coated.
  • Following this place a lid on the tub, and then place it into the fridge for up to 24 hours (the longer you leave it the better the flavour); you will need the turn the tofu over three or four times to ensure it is evenly coated in your marinade.
  • Okay, time to get cooking. Preheat the oven to 180*c, and using a sharp knife slice your tofu into eight pieces. Spray a baking tray with cooking spray, and place the slices onto the tray. At this point I poured any remaining marinade over the tofu, before placing this into the oven for 15 minutes.
  • After 15 minutes remove the tofu from the oven, carefully turn each slice over, and return to the oven for 20 minutes, turning the heat up to 200*c in order to get a good crisp exterior.
  • Serve immediately with your choice of sides; I went for sweet potato cubes, kale, and leftover stir fried vegetables.
Leave a Reply

