Pumpkin Pie Smoothie (Healthy & Vegan Friendly!)

Yesterday I was browsing the ‘World Foods’ isle in my Tesco’s, wondering how much stuff I could buy and smuggle into the house without my mum being aware of it (I have one cupboard in the kitchen, which I share with the dog, for all my own food. Think nut butters, oats, tea. I’m almost out of space, and don’t think that my family would take kindly to five different brands of Japanese tofu turning up in the pantry). A can of 100% pumpkin caught my eye. I haven’t ever had pumpkin pie (I know, deprived childhood. I hear Americans all over the world gasping in horror), due the fact that it doesn’t seem to be a popular dessert here in the UK- I know it has major food status over in the USA, perhaps we’re missing out? Anyway, I know the basics of what a pumpkin pie should taste like (creamy, pumpkin-y, spiced), and thought that it sounded as though it would translate into a smoothie pretty damn well. Which, believe me, it really did…

This smoothie is a brilliant orange colour, and has a great balance of spicy cinnamon and ginger, with creamy texture and taste. It is also super healthy. Pumpkin is a healthful ingredient that we seem to ignore; it’s low calorie, filling, contains betacarotene (a potent antioxidant for cell development, and so healthy skin), and is rich in vitamin C and fibre. On top of this you have the potassium from the banana, a metabolism boost from the cinnamon, and some vitaminΒ B12 from the Alpro coconut milk (feel free to use another plant milk; they all have their own benefits). So, I hope that you enjoy this healthy, vegan and vegetarian friendly, liquid take on pumpkin pie- I sure did.

Ingredients

  • 150g canned pumpkin (I used Libby’s, which I found in Tesco. Make sure that the pumpkin thatΒ you buy is purely, 100% pumpkin. No added sugars, flavours, spices etc.)
  • 200ml planned based milk (I used Alpro coconut)
  • 1/2tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4tsp ground ginger
  • Pinch of ground nutmeg
  • 1/2-1tsp vanilla (I used 1/2tsp, but you may want more)
  • 1 banana, sliced up and frozen overnight
  • 2-3 ice cubes, optional


Method

  • Measure all of the ingredients out; I was feeling lazy and so placed the blender onto the scales and threw them all in there.
  • Turn the blender on, and blend the ingredients until smooth. You end up with a very cool orange colour.
  • Drink, and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

