Spiced Chickpea Ratatouille

Have I ever let you guys in on my love of street food? No? Well, now I have. I am a huge fan or street food- particularly fusion food. Being in Newcastle to study I have a multitude of street food to choose from every Sunday with the quayside market. Those of you who follow me via Instagram will have seen the wondrous food available there (Moroccan lamb meatball tagine with pitta and pomegranate-mint salad anyone?). But, I am also a student. So, as a student, I look to save some money wherever I can. Now, food is not an area I am likely to skimp on, because I love food more than all the other things students generally love (clothes, booze, makeup, takeaway etc.). The only other thing I love equally is books. Hence, I am an Eng Lit and Creative Writing student with a food blog. And a self imposed restraining order preventing me from entering Blackwells or Waterstones.

Anyway, if you are a student this is one for you. It is easy, nutritious, and although it takes 45 minutes in the oven, once it’s in there it pretty much looks after itself- giving you time to finish that piece of work that you have not done. The dish combines the classic French peasants food that is ratatouille, with a combination of middle eastern spices, and the little protein powerhouses that are chickpeas- and what a combination it is! It’s also one for all you vegetarians and vegans out there, because I love you all so much.  And now, without further ado, here is the recipe….


Ingredients (Serves 4):

  • 2 small-medium bell peppers (I used red and yellow)
  • 2 small onions
  • 1 courgette
  • 1 aubergine
  • 12 baby cherry tomatoes
  • Can of chickpeas (300g can, 180g drained)
  • 6tbsp hot salsa
  • 1tsp dried Italian herbs
  • 1 1/4tsp cumin
  • 1/2tsp chilli flakes (hot, birdseye)
  • 3/4tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4tsp ginger
  • 1/2tsp tumeric
  • Scant 1/4tsp garlic flakes
  • Black pepper, to taste

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 180*c.
  • Either spray an ovenproof dish with cooking spray, or add 1-2tsp oil. Chop all the vegetables: use your gut feeling on this one. You can have a chunky ratatouille, or a less chunky ratatouille- the choice is completely up to you.
  • Add all of the herbs and spices to the vegetables, give it a stir so that the spices coat all the chunks evenly, and then place into the oven for 45 minutes.
  • With 20 minutes left add the garlic flakes, salsa, and the drained can of chickpeas. Stir into the vegetables and return to the oven.
  • Once the 45 minutes are up, serve up your delicious dish and enjoy- sharing is 100% optional.

    Leave a Reply

    