Green Island Smoothie

I have a confession to make: I have never had a green smoothie. I know that they are all the rage (or am I too late?), I have nothing against spinach/kale/other green vegetables in drinks- I have just never gotten around to trying a green smoothie. So, with a new blender to christen in our house I happened to think that now was the ideal time to try one. My usual favourite smoothie ingredients are a frozen banana and a tablespoon of peanut butter, with whatever milk I have in. Since the novelty of my being home for the holidays hasn’t quite worn off yet, this happened to be the Alpro coconut milk I’ve had my eye on for a while. Surely spinach would work with these ingredients? Thus, the ‘Green Island’ smoothie (because you get coconuts on tropical islands, and bananas, and if I was stranded on such an island I would definitely learn how to grow peanuts, and have a spinach patch. Along with a monkey butler and beach hut with a state of the art kitchen and air-con) was born. I can assure you, this is delicious. The coconut and banana complement each other beautifully, the peanut butter makes it rich and creamy as well as adding protein, and the spinach gives a vibrant emerald hue. I also thoroughly enjoyed using the new blender by the way.

Ingredients

  • 1 large handful of spinach
  • 1 tbsp. smooth peanut butter (I use Whole Earth no added sugar)
  • 200ml Alpro coconut milk
  • 1 medium banana, sliced into coins and frozen overnight
  • Pinch of cinnamon, if desired


Method

  • Throw the frozen banana into the blender, and blitz until the pieces begin to break up.
  • At this point add in the coconut milk, and the cinnamon; blend until well incorporated, before throwing in the peanut butter and blending again.
  • Finally, throw in the spinach and blend until the mixture becomes bright green in hue, and no large chunks of leaves are left.
  • Pour into your favourite glass, add a straw, and sip away. Monkey butler optional.
Leave a Reply

