Coffee & Walnut Overnight Oats

Here’s another recipe for all you coffee worshipers out there!
When I was younger I could not stand either coffee, or walnuts, on their own. Walnuts in their shells were for giving to the dog at Christmas, in order to watch her chase them around the front room, confused by the rattling noise inside. However, bake sales were something my mum regularly took me to (I am going somewhere with this, don’t worry), and if I was well behaved enough I would be allowed to choose something to smear all over my face, my clothes, and possibly get some in my mouth. I was fascinated by coffee and walnut cake. Two of my least favourite things rolled into one. But how could something that must taste so disguising look so good in cake form? Since the moment I plucked up the courage to try that coffee and walnut cake it has become one of my absolute favourites, as have the individual components giving it its name.
The rich coffee, combined with the slightly bitter walnuts, warming cinnamon, and lighter fruity undertones of these overnight oats (I sound like an M&S advert) make them a winner for any morning you need a little perking up.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup porridge oats
  • 1/4 cup coffee (made up with 1/4 cup lukewarm water and 2tsp instant coffee. Don’t use any coffee you wouldn’t drink is my advice; I used a Whittard’s coffee with a little chocolate flavouring in it and it worked like a dream)
  • 1/4 cup low fat Greek yoghurt (choose a thick kind, such as “Total”)
  • 1/2 ripe banana
  • 1/4tsp cinnamon
  • 3 prunes
  • 20g walnut pieces (I found mine for £1.20, which is fairly cheap in walnut terms, at M&S)

Method:

  • In a bowl mash the banana until smooth, before adding the chopped prunes, and roughly chopped walnuts; how finely you chop them is dependant on personal taste- I left them fairly chunky. Now add 1/4tsp cinnamon, followed by the oats. Stir to combine.
  • Pour the coffee into the mixture, and stir once again, before adding in the Greek yoghurt. For future reference, if these oats aren’t sweet enough for you, you can add up to 1tsp honey at this point.
  • Mix until well combined, and a pale coffee colour is achieved. At this point dollop the whole lot into a bowl, top with more Greek yoghurt, cinnamon, and walnuts (reserve any nuts you want for the top from the 20g total) if desired.
  • Place into the fridge overnight, and wake up a more chilled morning…
Leave a Reply

