Apple & Blueberry Pie Baked Oatmeal

This is a perfect, healthy breakfast for those days where you feel as if you’ve exhausted porridge and overnight oats- but also want a warming, slightly more luxurious way to start your morning.
I am a huge breakfast fan; there are few things I love more than waking up and pottering down to the kitchen to whip up something mouth watering, which will soothe the grumblings of my stomach.
The combination of apple and blueberries is also one that I adore, and they come into their own in this baked oatmeal; the apple chunks are tender, but still with sufficient crunch, the sweet blueberries burst and work their juices through the gooey oats and spices, marbling this little pot with their magical blueberry-ness. I have a feeling this will become a regular breakfast fixture come early autumn, because that is exactly the time of year these flavours remind me of.
As usual, I hope you enjoy this simple recipe, and visit my Instagram for more food ideas and pictures!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 medium apple, any variety
  • 1 good handful of blueberries
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup milk or water (I used almond milk, as it seems to yield the best results)
  • 1/2 medium ripe banana
  • 1/4tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8tsp ginger
  • 1/16tsp mixed spice (basically a large pinch, I just needed to emphasise that it shouldn’t be the same amount as the next spice…)
  • Tiny pinch nutmeg

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 180*c (I have a fan oven, in an electric oven you may need to add 10*c onto this).
  • Begin by combining the oats and all the spices, then add the almond milk and mix well.
  • Mash your banana until there are no large lumps, and then add this into the oat mixture, stirring until well incorporated.
  • Chop the apple into small pieces, reserving three thin slices for decoration. Stir the apple and the blueberries into the oat mixture and then empty into an ovenproof ramekin. Place the three apple slices on top, along with three blueberries.
  • The uncooked oatmeal needs to be placed into the oven, on the top shelf, for 25 minutes. The top will crisp up and develop some colour, and the apple and blueberries on the top soften; this is when the baked oatmeal is cooked to perfection.
  • Lift the oatmeal out of the oven and allow to cool for approximately 5 minutes- you will burn your mouth if you don’t listen to me. I chose to serve my oatmeal with Greek yoghurt, the other 1/2 an apple, 1/2 plum (because they’re one of my all time favourite fruits), and some more blueberries.
Leave a Reply

